St. Mary Parish


St. Mary Parish was part of the original Attakapas region when the United States purchased Louisiana from the French.  It was created as a separate parish from St. Martin Parish in 1811.  The Chitimacha were the original inhabitants of the area.  They received federal tribal recognition in 1918. Of St. Mary’s 555 square mile land area, the Chitimacha Reservation covers approximately 283 acres near the community of Charenton. The parish is bounded by St. Mary and Terrebonne Parishes to the south, Iberia along its western border, Iberia and St. Martin to the north, and Assumption and Terrebonne to the east. The parish was named for St. Mary.

 Parish Websites

St. Mary Parish Government
St. Mary Parish School District
St. Mary Parish Chamber of Commerce 
Cajun Coast Visitors and Convention Bureau
Port of West St. Mary
Port of Morgan City
St. Mary Parish Economic Development
South Louisiana Community College
One Acadiana
Barataria Terrebonne National Estuary Program
South Louisiana Economic Council
Louisiana Economic Development Certified Sites
Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana

Population, 2010:                                 54,650 

Population Estimate, 2019:                  49,348

County Seat:                                        Franklin

There are five municipalities in St. Mary as follows:

Municipality 2018 Estimated Population Municipality 2018 Estimated Population
Baldwin 2,522 Morgan City 11,452
Berwick 4,660 Patterson 6,012
Franklin 7,097

Census Designated Places in St. Mary include the following:

CDP 2018 Estimated Population CDP 2018 Estimated Population
Amelia 1,647 Glencoe 230
Bayou Vista 4,567 Siracusaville 597
Charenton 1,688 Sorrel 559

For more demographic data on St. Mary Parish please visit

Sorry, you can not to browse this website.

Because you are using an outdated version of MS Internet Explorer. For a better experience using websites, please upgrade to a modern web browser.

Mozilla Firefox Microsoft Internet Explorer Apple Safari Google Chrome